KonaKart Community Forum

Installation / Configuration => Programming of KonaKart => Topic started by: David on October 22, 2007, 09:08:49 am

Title: Problems with insertProduct
Post by: David on October 22, 2007, 09:08:49 am
Hi,
I have a problem when I try to insert a product on KonaKart. This is the error i've got:

Quotejava.rmi.RemoteException: The String parameter called description must be given a value. It cannot be set to null or be left empty.<br>Exception Stack Trace = <br>   at com.konakartadmin.bl.AdminBaseMgr.checkRequired(AdminBaseMgr.java:266)<br>   at com.konakartadmin.bl.AdminProductMgr.validateProduct(AdminProductMgr.java:661)<br>   at com.konakartadmin.bl.AdminProductMgr.insertProduct(AdminProductMgr.java:103)<br>   at com.konakartadmin.bl.KKAdmin.insertProduct(KKAdmin.java:2257)<br>   at com.konakartadmin.ws.KKWSAdminSoapBindingImpl.insertProduct(KKWSAdminSoapBindingImpl.java:1126)<br>   at .........


I think that I fill all descriptions of the product but I don't understand that error. This is a piece of my source code:

QuoteAdminProduct articulo = new AdminProduct();

      //Categorías
      AdminCategory[] categorias = new AdminCategory[numCategorias];
      
      AdminCategory cat = new AdminCategory();
      for(int i=0; i<numCategorias; ++i){
         cat = port.getCategory(((Number) idCategorias.get(i)).intValue(), false, 1);
         categorias=cat;
      }
      
      //categorias[0] = port.getCategory(5,false,1);
      articulo.setCategories(categorias);
      
      //Descripción
      AdminProductDescription[] desc = new AdminProductDescription[3];
      desc[0] = new AdminProductDescription();
      desc[0].setLanguageId(1);
      desc[0].setName((String) res.get(DESC_ARTICULO));
      desc[0].setDescription((String) res.get(OBSERVACIONES));
      desc[1] = new AdminProductDescription();
      desc[1].setLanguageId(2);
      desc[1].setName((String) res.get(DESC_ARTICULO));
      desc[1].setDescription((String) res.get(OBSERVACIONES));
      desc[2] = new AdminProductDescription();
      desc[2].setLanguageId(3);
      desc[2].setName((String) res.get(DESC_ARTICULO));
      desc[2].setDescription((String) res.get(OBSERVACIONES));
      articulo.setDescriptions(desc);
      articulo.setDescription((String) res.get(DESC_ARTICULO));


Regards

David
Title: Re: Problems with insertProduct
Post by: trevor on October 22, 2007, 10:47:58 am
Hello David,

It does look like you have set description to null or an empty string. What I suggest is for you to run the example we provide in the zip package that you can download from http://www.konakart.com/apiexamplesfaq.php and see if that works for you.

Regards,

Trevor
Title: Re: Problems with insertProduct
Post by: David on October 23, 2007, 10:39:29 am
ups, you are right. I forgot checking that.

Thanks for your response
Title: Re: Problems with insertProduct
Post by: ReLLiK75 on November 17, 2008, 06:20:49 pm
I'm dynamically creating products and having this same error.  It's obviously something wrong with my code.  Because I'm dynamically creating products based on an integration with a 3rd party system, I'm finding that some of the required fields just simply don't apply/are not needed for the type of products I'm needing to insert into the KK database.  Is there anyway to disable the "required" fields and only set a few parameters  like name, description, and price? 

Thanks!
Wayne