KonaKart Community Forum

Installation / Configuration => Programming of KonaKart => Topic started by: GrapeApe on March 24, 2009, 11:55:02 pm

Title: Programmatically accessing multiple KonaKart datastores...
Post by: GrapeApe on March 24, 2009, 11:55:02 pm
Hello all,

Does anyone know of a way to programmatically access two different KonaKart databases?  Say I have a store that for some reason sells two products priced in two different currencies - one sells jewelry priced in dollars and the other sells kittens priced in rupees.  However, products from both databases are loaded into the same webapp, so I need to be able to programmatically switch between reading from the jewelry/dollar database and the kittie/rupee database. 

Likewise, I need to programmatically switch between administration of the two database.  If I get some new diamonds, I want to go to add them to the jewelry database and price it in dollars.  If I get a cute new callico, I want to put him in the kitten database and price him in rupees (not that you can put a price on a kittie!).  One unified interface is presented to administrators that allows him to update each database with the appropriate currency.  However, the backend has to know how to switch between the two databases. 

Any ideas?  Thank you,

Currency-Challenged Gorilla
Title: Re: Programmatically accessing multiple KonaKart datastores...
Post by: trevor on March 25, 2009, 06:31:28 am
Our enterprise extensions allow you to implement multi-store with multiple databases. However, to show the products in the same store you'd have to modify the Struts application.
Title: Re: Programmatically accessing multiple KonaKart datastores...
Post by: GrapeApe on March 25, 2009, 05:38:09 pm
Quote from: trevor on March 25, 2009, 06:31:28 am
Our enterprise extensions allow you to implement multi-store with multiple databases. However, to show the products in the same store you'd have to modify the Struts application.


Ah, is there a way to accomplish the same thing with the 2.6 KonaKart?  (Just read your docs on the new KK and so I know this is kind of an end-around for the EE-setup, so I can understand you guys being hesitant to answer this one).

Thanks,

Hairball
Title: Re: Programmatically accessing multiple KonaKart datastores...
Post by: trevor on March 26, 2009, 11:09:41 am
Not that I can think of although I suppose you could have two KonaKart server installations and and have a front end that communicates in SOAP to both end points.